Male-domineering behavior

I’m in a lab of 24 adult college students. They work in pairs on their experimental work. One of them spills some bacterial culture, wipes it up and throws it into the regular garbage. I tell him how wrong that is, and it’s supposed to be disinfected and placed into an autoclave bag.

He is an Indian student, working with an Indian girl. The girl starts to say something, he tells her in his own language, “tu chup kar [you shut up]” in a very demeaning way. And turns around and apologizes as if I wasn’t a Lab Instructor but some sort of God.

This behavior is so disgusting. Men, being domineering, and rude. The girl is a better student than him, respectful, kind, and knowledgeable. He treats her like dirt. He treats me (a figure or authority) with the utmost respect.

Why do men do this? Why the double standards. Why do they think they can get away with it?

Over and over and over again, I’ve seen these behaviors around me. In all sorts of relationships.  Why can we not respect others? Why do men struggle with this so much?

They’ve got to do things their way or they’re out. I’m sorry but I demand respect. I value myself, and if you refuse to do the same, then the doors open, you’re free to walk out.

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Male-domineering behavior

  1. Aman Khan says:

    Power Dynamics play such an important role in our society

    Like

  2. IsmailSatia says:

    Jabir ibn ‘Abdullah reported that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said,
    “Fear injustice. Injustice will appear as darkness on the Day of Rising. Fear avarice. Avarice destroyed people before you and led them to shed one another’s blood and to make lawful what was unlawful for them.”

    Like

  3. IsmailSatia says:

    JazakAllah Khayran

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment